Virus Removal Guides

How to Clear Browsers Cache

How to clear cache on any Browser

Deleting browser data could oftentimes help with different issues in the browser such as browser sluggishness or aggressive site advertisements. Clearing the site data of most browsers types can be done in roughly the same way but there are some slight differences between the different browsers. In this next article, we have shown you how you can delete/clear the browser site data (cached files, history, cookies, etc.) for five of the most popular browsers out there – Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Mozilla Firefox, Opera, and Brave. Before you continue and try the following instructions, we must mention that deleting the site data of your browser may sometimes require a couple of minutes, especially if you haven’t done that recently (or ever). Do not worry if the browser is taking its time to finish the deletion – this doesn’t mean that it has become non-responsive, and you need to close it. Wait patiently for the deletion to complete without closing the browser even if it is taking more time than expected.

Instructions for Google Chrome 

  1. Start the Google Chrome browser and select the three-dot icon located in the top-right corner of the browser’s window – this is the Google Chrome main menu. 
  2. From the drop-down menu, click on the More Tools option and then, from the next menu that opens, select Clear browsing data.

  3. Now go to the Advanced tab and look at the different types of data that would get deleted. We suggest you put ticks on everything except Passwords and other sign-in data and maybe  Auto-fill form data and Site settings. Also, we suggest you keep the time range on the All time settings so that all potentially unwanted data gets deleted.

  4. After you are done customizing the deletion settings, click on the Clear Data button to finish the action.

Instructions for Microsoft Edge

  1. Start Microsoft Edge and click on the icon with three dots that’s located right below the X button in the top-right corner.
  2. From the menu that opens, hover your mouse over the History button and from the next drop-down menu that shows up select the Clear Browsing Data button.
  3. Leave the time range setting to All time and explore the other options that you can check or uncheck. Here, we suggest you only leave the Passwords and Form data unchecked – put ticks in all of the other checkboxes.

  4. After you have chosen which boxes to check, click on Clear now and wait for the data deletion to complete.

Instructions for Mozilla Firefox

  1. Go to your Mozilla Firefox browser and select the browser menu – its button is represented by three horizontal lines located in the upper-right corner of the browser’s window.
  2. From the Firefox menu, go to Options and select the Privacy and Security tab from the sidebar on the left side of your screen.


  3. Scroll down a bit to find an option labelled Delete cookies and site data when Firefox is closed and put a tick in its checkbox if you want Firefox to automatically delete cookies and cached site data whenever you close the browser.

  4. If you want to delete browser data just this once, don’t tick the Delete cookies and side data when Firefox is closed and instead click on Clear Data.

  5. Check both boxes in the next window and click on Clear to initiate the data deletion.

Instructions for Opera

  1. If you are an Opera user, go to the Opera browser and click on the red “O” button in the top-left corner of the screen – this is the Opera menu.
  2. From there, go to History and select the Clear Browsing Data option – this will open a window with different data-deletion options that you can customize.

  3. Like with the previous browsers, we suggest keeping the All time setting for the Time Range and placing ticks in all boxes except the one for your Passwords and sign-in data and the one for Autofill form data.

  4. To finalize the action, click on the Clear Data button and wait for the deletion to complete.

Instructions for Brave

  1. Once you start the Brave browser, click on the 3-lines icon in the upper-right corner of the browser window and select Settings.
  2. On the left side of your screen, click on the Additional Settings button and then find an option labelled Privacy and Security and select it.

  3. Next, click on Clear Browsing Data, go to the Advanced tab in the window that opens, and make sure that the setting for the Time Range is All time.

  4. Next, ensure that the tick from the Passwords box is removed as you will probably not need to delete that.
  5. Now go to the On exit tab – there, you can choose what data would be automatically deleted every time you close the browser. If you don’t want any data to be automatically deleted whenever you close Brave, don’t do anything in this tab.
  6. Finally, click on the Clear Data to button to delete the browser data you’ve chosen and wait for the deletion to complete.

Exit mobile version