fbpx

Watch this video of You Facebook Virus


We all know that clicking on random web links may land us a virus or malware. However, there are times when the infection comes in a very unexpected way. Such is the case with the “Watch this video of you” Facebook Messenger scam.
“Watch this video of you” is a scam that has been sweeping across Facebook Messenger for the past few months. In a nutshell, the scam contains a hoax message with a link that looks something like this: “[your name] video” followed by a shocked emoji with a message “watch this video of you” or “It’s you, [your name]!”
Typically, the victims receive the “Watch this video of you” message from a Facebook friend. This way, the scam message is а bait designed to make them click on the link, so the website they’re redirected to can give them a virus.

The “Watch this video of you” Facebook scam

If you click on the “Watch this video of you” link, you are typically redirected to a page controlled by a fraudster who could steal your login details or insert malware. The virus-ridden link, once clicked on, is also forwarded to your friends who are then directed by the same scam message to different malicious sitesIf you receive one of these hoax messages from a Facebook friend, it probably means their account has been hijacked.

Although the “Watch this video of you” scam is rotating mostly on Facebook Messenger, such hoax messages are encountered on multiple messaging platforms. Therefore, users should be aware that scammers are active on almost all of them.

Watch This Video of You

The Watch This Video of You Facebook Virus

 

 

Most “Watch this video of you” scams could redirect users to a page that automatically harvests their login credentials. In other versions of the same scam, victims who click on the link are taken to a website that looks like a Facebook login page, asking for account details before the video can be played. There is no video, however. Scammers are using this method to collect your details and hijack your Facebook account in order to send the same message to your friends.
 
In another version of the scam, the fake site asks victims to copy and paste code into their browser’s address bar to watch the video. In reality, the code is a malicious JavaScript that allows hackers to control the victim’s Facebook account.
 
Security professionals are warning of another variation of the scam, where victims are taken to a page that looks like a playable movie. When people click on it, they get redirected to a set of websites which compromise the web browser, the operating system, and other vital informationThe people behind this attack use tracking cookies to monitor the victims’ online activity, display certain ads, and trick them into clicking on links. The crooks are most likely making a lot of money in ads and getting access to a lot of Facebook accounts in this way.
What to do if you have clicked on  “Watch this video of you”?
You need to change your password ASAP. After that, post a message on Facebook letting your friends know that you’ve been hacked. Our “How to remove” team would suggest running a system check to spot anything suspicious and remove any unnecessary apps connected to your Facebook account. The best way to prevent these scams is to avoid clicking on any links that you receive. Better, contact the sender to verify that he was the one who really sent the message. Facebook users can also secure their accounts by enabling two-factor authentication.

SUMMARY:

Name Watch this video of You
Type Trojan
Detection Tool

Remove Watch this video of You Facebook Virus

You are dealing with a malware infection that can restore itself unless you remove its core files. We are sending you to another page with a removal guide that gets regularly updated. It covers in-depth instructions on how to:
1. Locate and scan malicious processes in your task manager.
2. Identify in your Control panel any programs installed with the malware, and how to remove them. Search Marquis is a high-profile hijacker that gets installed with a lot of malware.
3. How to clean up and reset your browser to its original settings without the malware returning.
You can find the removal guide here.

For mobile devices refer to these guides instead: Android, iPhone

blank

About the author

blank

Lidia Howler

Lidia is a web content creator with years of experience in the cyber-security sector. She helps readers with articles on malware removal and online security. Her strive for simplicity and well-researched information provides users with easy-to-follow It-related tips and step-by-step tutorials.

Leave a Comment